Snapchat is full with many reasons to ban someone in your life: they send you too many self-portraits, they’re your ex, they always use the same dull filters — but the best reason is simply that you want to block them.
You can now block someone on Snapchat, and we will explain why you shouldn’t simply remove someone from your friends list if you wish to keep them to keep seeing you.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?
Having blocked someone on Snapchat will prevent them from seeing your stories or snaps/chats. The usernames on each other’s friend’s lists will be removed, and neither of you will be able to be found each other further.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat:
- They will not be able to receive snaps from you
- They will still be able to view your snaps
- Sent messages or snaps will not go through
- Blocked person will be removed from your best friends
- They Won’t get any screenshot notifications
1. They will not be able to receive snaps from you
The chat page of a blocked person does not alter. This also means that they can communicate with you.
Those messages, on the other hand, will not be delivered to you. While they will appear as unread on the blocked user’s side, you will not be notified of any chats that are sent to you.
Similarly, if you receive a snap from someone you’ve blocked, it will appear to have been delivered on their end. However, you will not be alerted of the change. This function safeguards the blocker by preventing the blocked person from realizing they have been blocked.
2. They will still be able to view your snaps
As we already know that the Snap goes through despite being blocked, the question becomes whether blocking someone results in a Snap being deleted.
Unfortunately, the answer is no. In spite of being blocked, when a snap hasn’t been read, a person can still open it and view it.
The inconvenient aspect of this is that you don’t want someone who is blocked to see your snap.
Snaps are available for 24 hours, but will become inaccessible afterward (after 24 hours).
3. Sent messages or snaps will not go through
Sent messages or snaps will not go through to each other as well after blocking the person on Snapchat.
4. Blocked person will be removed from your Best Friends
Since you have paused interacting with a blocked individual, their name will be removed from your Best Friends list.
You’ll soon stop interacting with someone once you block them. Snap streaks and best buddies utilize interaction to determine your friendship status.
Unblocking someone and re-friending them will cause you to have to start over with your interactions with them. Snap streaks from the past will no longer be available to you.
5. Won’t Get Any Screenshot Notifications
The screenshots of your messages taken by blocked users will not be notified to you. A picture will be sent to the blocked individual, but you will not be informed.
If you unblock them and re-adjust their status as a Friend, you will not be able to see whether they have taken any screenshot.
6. Chats will be Deleted for You but not for Them
Snapchat blocks an account when you do so, and their account is removed completely from yours.
Consequently, you can no longer communicate with them. You will see that the person is nowhere to be found on your chats page.
Conversely, the blocked individual cannot view anything. It appears that their conversation hasn’t changed. No matter who saved the chats, the blocked person still has access to them.
What do people see when you block someone on Snapchat?
When you block someone, they won’t see anything else outside your user profile being removed from their discussion list. Because you’re no longer one of their friends, they won’t see your stories.
Your user profile will be removed from their conversation/friends list the next time they open the app after you block someone.
Unless you unblock them, they won’t be able to see your account from now on.
Is it Possible for Someone You have Blocked on Snapchat to Access Your Messages?
Yes, when you block someone on Snapchat, their messages don’t go away; if you open your account, they’ll still be visible to them. If you don’t open a message or snap for a long time, Snapchat will erase it.
This means that if you block someone for a while, they won’t be able to see yours conversations, even if you unblock them later.
If you decide to block someone after they’ve saved your Snapchat messages, they’ll still be able to see them after you’ve blocked them. You must first unblock them so that you can view the chat again, and then you must delete it to prevent them from seeing it.
Is it possible to find out whether you’ve blocked or unblocked someone on Snapchat?
No, When you block or unblock someone on Snapchat, they aren’t notified, but someone can try to find out alternatively if you have blocked them on Snapchat by searching you from another Snapchat account to determine if you blocked them.
If you unblock someone on Snapchat, though they won’t get the notification but if they search you now, they would be able to see the option to send the friend request.
Does Blocking on Snapchat Remove Friends?
Yes, blocking someone prevents you from communicating with them and removes them from your list of friends.
You’ll need to search and re-add a friend after you’ve unblocked them. To do so, type the username in the top-right search box, then tap Add next to profile image and username.
On snapchat, where can I find Blocked Users?
To find Blocked users on Snapchat, Go to Snapchat Profile Icon -> Click Settings Gear Icon -> Go to ‘Blocked’ Option -> You would see the list of all Blocked users, Click ‘X’ next to user to unblock if want.
Steps to Find Blocked Users on Snapchat:
Step 1: Click on your Snapchat profile icon in the top-left corner.
Step 2: Click the Settings Gear ion in the top right corner.
Step 3: Scroll down to “Blocked” option at the bottom of the screen. A list of all the people you’ve blocked can be found here.
Step 4: Tap the “X” next to a username to unblock it.
When you block someone on Snapchat, your account will instantly unfriend them.
If you doubt that you’ll reconnect with that person in the future, we recommend banning with other alternatives instead of accepting the unwanted friend request using blocking feature.